Lee Rotbart

Afternoon teas

In The beginning on August 16, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Over the weekend I baked, and when I say baked I mean I made more sugary, floury, eggy things than can be found in the bakery section of a small supermarket.

I made banana and walnut loaves, cookies, muffins and brownies. I made enough to feed the 16 girls that came round for tea 5 times over; and as I was cleaning my flat, setting out the muffins, and plumping up the sofa cushions I realised that I was genuinely excited about opening up my little flat to the masses, and playing the hostess. As I was pouring my 20th cup of tea and trying not to eat too many chocolate brownies it occurred to me how much I am going to love doing exactly that in St Ives.

After so much activity in the first 4 weeks of discovering Porthminster View, the last 4 weeks has been painful to say the least and, as regular readers of this blog will know, frustratingly uneventful. Consequently I was relieved to find that baking and hosting gave me more ‘job’ satisfaction than working as a strategy consultant for a web design agency ever had; it reinforced my belief that I am doing the absolute right thing for me, right now.

Throwing this little tea party, inviting people into my home, and then doing everything I could to make sure they enjoyed themselves when they got there was one of the best things I’ve done in a long time. Now I know working full time in a guesthouse won’t be all baking cakes, cooking breakfast, and chatting to friendly guests; and I also know not all the guests will be as friendly as I would hope them to be. However, it’s a darn sight more similar than writing a strategy document for a big international airline to help them make even more money than they’re making already; and it’s a thousand times more relevant than sitting in an office, overlooking a Soho back alley, listening to awful music and staring at a computer screen.

I’ve had thank you emails and lovely comments from everyone who came yesterday afternoon, and I have been equally gushing in return. Even Monday doesn’t seem so bad because I’m still basking in the glow of Sunday, and I get to go home to a flat which is filled with the smell of baking and sunflowers.

I don’t have a single, solitary doubt about Danny and I making wonderful hosts; and this weekend has made me even more determined (if that’s possible) to not let a little thing, like lenders not giving us a mortgage, get in our way.

St Ives here we come!

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the cooking and hosting and everything and am sure those brownies and muffins where delecious! It’s definetely a good sign that you enjoy being a host. May I just add that after a couple of years of baking and fluffing up cussions you might have a similar feeling about that than about writing strategy papers (which I assume you considered fairly satisfying a couple of years ago). Often it’s the glamour of the new challenge that makes it so exciting for us – hence why I started as a consultant I guess 😉
    Keeping that in mind, though, will make it much easier to bake the 1 millionst brownie in 2 years time with a bright smile on your face…

    And indeed, I’ve not doubt whatsoever that you and Danny will make wonderful hosts!
    Watch out St Ives, here they come!

  2. I can categorically say, no word of a lie, that I NEVER found writing a strategy paper exciting… satisfying maybe (once finished) but never exciting and NEVER enjoyable!

Comments are closed.

